Thursday, February 28, 2013

Naga People’s Front surging ahead in Nagaland

KOHIMA, February 28, 2013 PTI

Ruling Naga People\'s Front (NPF) is surging ahead in Nagaland with the party winning 22 seats and Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio building up an unassailable lead of over 11,000 votes.

The Congress has won in four seats, the BJP one, NCP two, the JD(U) one and independents in three.

Education Minister Nyeiwang Konyak of the outgoing Democratic Alliance of Nagaland government was defeated by Eshak Konyak of Congress by 693 votes in Aboi.

In Pughoboto, Y Vikheho Swu of NPF defeated sitting MLA and Congress candidate Joshua Sumi by 2286 votes. In Phomching, former minister and NPF candidate Pohwang defeated five-time sitting Congress MLA K Kongam Konyak by 2437 votes.

Congress candidate Y Mankhao was drubbed in Mon Town by NPF candidate, Thongwang by 274 votes.

Rio is set to retain his Northern Angami seat for the fifth time.

Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie too is leading over Asu Keyho of Congress by over 800 votes in Western Angami seat, while Leader of Opposition Tokheho Yepthomi is leading in Dimapur-III by 772 votes against closest rival and sitting NPF MLA Azheto.

Congress president S I Jamir is leading by 1500 votes over closest rival Savi Liegise, an independent candidate. NPF candidate Lipok is trailing in the third position.

Out of the total 60 seats, election was held in 59 follwoing the death of Congress candidate of Tuensang sadar seat P Chuba Chnag.

BJP won its maiden seat in Tizit with its candidate P Paiwang Konyak defeating NPF rival Aloh by 3076 votes.

Former chief minister and Congress candidate K L Chishi is trailing by over 1000 votes behind Tovihoto Ayemi in Dimapur—I after an initial lead.

Outgoing DAN Minister T R Zeliang is trailing by about 70 odd votes behind Iherie Ndang of Congress in Peren seat, while his colleague M C Konyak too is trailing by over 1000 votes against Independent Candidate Y M Yolow in Wakching.

T M Lotha of NCP is leading over outgoing minister Chumben Murry of NPF by about 4000 votes in Wokha.
News From:

No comments:

eXTReMe Tracker