Monday, March 14, 2011

hockey press release final

Ludhiana, March 14, 2011:

Punjab and Sindh Bank defeated Punjab National Bank by 2-1 to clinch


CHAMPION TROPHY at Olympian Prithipal Singh Hockey Stadium in Punjab

Agricultural University, here on Monday.

The Prof Nirpjit Kaur Gill Memorial Trophy was won by the eves of Rail

Coach Factory, Kapurthala, who defeated Sonepat XI by 3-0.

Punjab and Sindh Bank won a prize money of Rs 2 lakh, while the team

standing second, Punjab National Bank won Rs 1 lakh as prize money. RCF

won a prize money of Rs 75,000 and the eves of Sonepat XI won a prize

of Rs 50,000, besides trophies.

In the final match of women section, RCF scored an easy win against

their opponents. The first goal was scored by Rarlil Lalte in 4th

minute of the match, followed by Anuradha Devi in seventh minute and by

Deepika Thakur in 45th minute of the match. Monica of Sonepat XI was

declared player of the match.

In the final of men section, Punjab and Sindh Bank defeated Punjab

National Bank by 2-1. In a power packed match, Punjab and Sindh Bank

(PSB) were soon to take lead when Parminder Singh scored a goal in 16th

minute of play. The score was equaled by Yudhvir Singh of PNB in 26th

minute of play.

At half time, both the teams were tied at 1-1.

In the second match, both the teams got several chances of scoring, but

the PSB boys scored a goal in the dying minutes of the match to win the


TROPHY. Parminder Singh scored this goal in 67th minute of the match.

The winners were given prizes by S. Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, MP Rajya

Sabha, eminent Punjabi singer Satinder Sartaaj and others present on

the occasion.

This six day hockey tourney was organised by Sports Council of Ludhiana

from March 9-14, 2011.

Prominent among those present during the day were Olympian S. Rajinder

Singh (Chairman), S. Balbir Singh Grewal (Advisor), Olympian S. Hardeep

Singh Grewal (Chairman of Organizing Committee), Dr Kirpal Singh Aulakh

(former VC PAU), Prof Gurbhajan Gill (Patron), S. Tarlochan Singh Gill

(Patron), S. Jagbir Singh Grewal (Sr VP), S. Pavittar Singh Grewal (Sr

VP), S. Indermohan Singh Qadian (Sr VP), S. Satwinder Singh Jawaddi (Ex

Councillor), S. Harvinder Singh Gill (Sr VP), Sh. Rajnish Dhawan (Org

Sec), S. Gurinder Singh Sandhu (Sr VP), S. Ajaypal Singh Punia (Gen

Sec), S. Sukhwinder Singh Railway (Fin Sec), S. Tejdeep Singh Bhalla

(Org Sec), S. Bhupinder Singh Dimple (VP), S. Gurpreet Singh (VP), S.

Bhupinder Singh Haibowal (VP), S. Kamaldeep Singh Ladian, S. Harbant

Singh Raju, S. Gurcharan Singh, S. Gurnam Singh, S. Lakhwinder Singh

(Org Sec), besides others.
News From:

No comments:

eXTReMe Tracker