Thursday, February 24, 2011

South Africa vs West Indies: WI tail up as SA press further

New Delhi, February 24, 2011

West Indies are batting on 213/8 in 45 overs with skipper Darren Sammy and Kemar Roach at the crease against South Africa in their World Cup Group B match at the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi on Thursday. Live Score

Early in the innings, West Indies opener Chris Gayle departed on the third ball of the match with offie Johan Botha claiming his wicket. A surprising decision by South Africa skipper Graeme Smith to give the ball to off-spinner Johan Botha in the very first over. But, the moved paid off as in the third ball of the over he struck to send danger-man Chris Gayle back into the pavilion.

A good length ball from Botha pitched outside off took the edge off Gayle\'s bat to and Jacques Kallis did the rest in the first slip. West Indies slumped to 2/1 in the very first over.

One wicket down early on but West Indies had little to fear as their other opener Devon Smith and new man Darren Bravo continued to bat on and frustrate the Protea bowlers. The duo put on 111 for the second wicket before a change in bowling accounted for Bravo on 113/2.

On this occasion too it was Botha, who did the trick, claiming him Leg Before. Bravo scored a fine 73 off 82 balls. Post his dismissal Smith too fell on 117/3 with another spinner Imran Tahir claiming his wicket on 36.

Tahir struck again to scalp another danger-man Ramnaresh Sarwan when the West Indies score was 120. He only put two on board before a LBW decision send him back.

But Sarwan\'s wicket too didn\'t do much damage to the Windies scoring rate as soon Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Dwyane Bravo got on with another partnership. They put on 58 runs for fifth wicket before Bravo got run out on 40. The Windies score at this juncture was 178/5 in 37.5 overs.

However, post Dwyane Bravo\'s wicket the West Indies batting line-up faltered and they lost quick wickets. Chanderpaul departed when the score was 209/6 and South African paceman Dale Steyn claimed Kieron Pollard on a duck when the score was 213/7. From here on things became easy for the Protea pacers, who got busy counting the opposition scalps.

Earlier, South Africa skipper Graeme Smith won the toss and decided to field.

Teams -

South Africa: Graeme Smith(c), Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers(w), Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Imran Tahir, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Devon Smith, Darren Bravo, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy(c), Devon Thomas(w), Sulieman Benn, Kemar Roach

News From:

No comments:

eXTReMe Tracker