Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Old Students Day was celebrated at Government College for Women, Ludhiana.

Ludhiana 22/2/2011 (Reporter)

Old Students Day was celebrated at Government College for Women, Ludhiana. Mrs. Gurminder Kaur, Principal - cum - President of the Old Students Association presided over the function. Mrs. Sumeet Brar, Secretary, Old Students Association welcomed the chief guest. Mrs. Vijay Dhanda was the Guest of Honour on this occasion. Speaking on this occasion the chief guest College Principal Mrs. Gurminder Kaur said that Old Students Association is a very old association of the college which was started in 1954. She further said that this association has played a pivotal role in bringing old and new students of the college together. It has contributed towards the growth of the college in many ways. She also thanked this association for giving a number of Scholarships to the meritorious and needy students of the college. On this occasion the students of Departments of Music and Dance presented a cultural show and enthralled the audience.

The following five old students and retired teachers were honoured on this occasion:

Dr. Suman Sharda, a renowned doctor who is running a hospital in Model Town, Ldh.

Mrs. Ajit Bhalla, former Head of the Music Department, Govt. College for Women, Ldh and a very good singer.

Mrs. P.C.Kumbkarni, a well-known Zoologist of India and former Lecturer, Govt. College for Women, Ldh.

Miss Sherry Sabharwal, Professor, Department of Sociology, Panjab University, Chd.

Ms. Chitleen Sethi, Special Correspondent in Indian Express.

The College Principal expressed her happiness and welcomed the retired Principals and retired Lecturers who had graced the occasion. The following old students attendant this function:

Mrs. Manjit Kaur Sodhia (Retired Principal), Mrs. Narinder Sekhon (Retired Principal), Mrs. Vijay Dhanda, Mrs. Bhavish Rai Dhanda (Oldest Student of the college), Miss. Khushpal Kaur (Retired Principal), Mrs. Lal Raj Dhillon, Mrs,. Nimti Sood, Mrs. Sunila Dada (Retired Principal), Mrs. Jagdish Kalsi (Retired Principal), Mrs. Surinder Shikha (Retired Principal), Mrs. Taru Sugandha, Mrs. Pritama Gupta, Mrs. Amarjeet Kaur, Mrs. Ajit Bhalla, Miss Kultar Kapoor (Retired Principal), Miss Balbir Bajaj (Retired Principal) etc.

Other guests who attendant the function including Prof. A.C. Juneja, Prof. Davinderjit Singh. In the end vote of thanks was proposed by the college Vice Principal Mrs. Sudarshan Mehta. The stage was conducted by Dr. Mohinder Kaur Grewal and Mrs. Sumeet Brar.

News From: http://www.7StarNews.com

No comments:

eXTReMe Tracker