Saturday, October 30, 2010

Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association to organise 7th All India Guru Gobind Singh Hockey Champion Trophy from February 5-12, 2011.

Ludhiana, October 25: 7th All India Guru Gobind Singh Hockey Champion Trophy would be held at Padam Shri Pirthipal Singh Hockey Stadium at Punjab Agricultural University, here from February 5-12, 2011. This was announced during a press conference held here today.

This tournament would be organised under the able guidance of Olympian and Arjuna Awardee S. Surinder Singh Sodhi.

While addressing mediapersons, Pirthepal Singh Batala, President of Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association, informed that a total of 12 teams in men category and six in women category, from across the country would participate in this tournament.

Dr Kulwant Singh, General Secretary, Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association, informed that the winners in men category would be given Rs 2 lakh as prize, while the team which comes second would be given Rs 1 lakh.

"For the first time in Indian sports history, we would also be giving prizes to teams standing third and fourth. The team which comes third would be given Rs 50,000 and team coming fourth would be given Rs 25,000 as prize," Dr Kulwant Singh informed.

Olympian Hardeep Singh Grewal, chairman of organising committee informed that in women category, team coming first would be given a cash prize of Rs 75,000 and team coming second would be given Rs 40,000 as prize money.

During 7th All India Guru Gobind Singh Hockey Champion Trophy, all hockey Olympians from Ludhiana district would be honoured by Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association.

Prominent among those present during the press conference were, Amrik Singh Minhas, Chairman, Ludhiana Sports Welfare Association, Ajaypal Singh Poonia, Inder Mohan Kadian, Pavittar Singh Grewal, Jagbir Singh Grewal, Bhupinder Singh Haibowal, Olympian Balvir Singh, Olympian Gurdishpal Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Bhupinder Dimple, Rajnish Dhawan, Happy, Sukhinder Singh Railways, Lakhwinder Singh Lakha, Harjeet Singh Cheema, Ranjit Singh Kaka, Baljit Ghuman, besides many others.

News From:

No comments:

eXTReMe Tracker